Faculty & Departments

Finance Seminar Series 2005

Fall Semester

Murillo Campello, University of Illinois
Topic: "Asset Tangibility and Corporate Performance Under External Financing"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, Sept. 7, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

George Korniotis and Alok Kumar, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "How much Risk Sharing Among U.S. States is Attainable using Common Financial Assets?"
Wednesday, Sept. 14, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Mara Faccio, Vanderbilt University
Topic: "Reluctant Privatization"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, Sept. 21, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Chuck Schnitzlein, University of South Florida
Topic: "When Less (Potential Demand) Is More (Revenue): Asymmetric Bidding Capacities in Divisible Good Auctions"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, Sept. 28, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Michelle Lowry, Penn State University
Topic: "Institutional Investment in Newly Public Firms"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, Oct. 5, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Christopher Ting, Singapore Management University
Topic: "Determinants of Intra-Day Stock Price Change and Asymmetric Information"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Friday, Oct. 7, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Gideon Saar, New York University
Topic: "Individual Investor Trading and Stock Returns"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, Oct. 26, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Robert Marquez, University of Maryland
Topic: "Governance Mechanisms and Corporate Disclosure"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, Nov. 2, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Sergey Tsyplakov, University of South Carolina
Topic: TBA
(ND Contact: Robert Battalo)
Wednesday, Nov. 9, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Eduardo Zambrano, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Expected Utility Inequalities"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, Nov, 16, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

NO SEMINAR THE WEEK OF NOVEMBER 23rd DUE TO THE THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY

Jefferson Duarte, University of Washington
Topic: TBA
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, Nov. 30, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Martin Lettau, New York University (CANCELLED)
Topic: TBA
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Friday, December 2, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Sophie Shive, The University of Notre Dame
Topic:
Wednesday, December 7, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Eduardo Zambrano, The University of Notre Dame
Topic: "An Impossible Trinity for Interactive Epistemology"
Wednesday, Decembe 14, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Special Summer Seminar Series

George Korniotis and Alok Kumar
University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Does Investment Skill Deteriorate with Age?"
Wednesday, July 20, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Ann Sherman
University of Notre Dame
Topic:"Why do IPO Auctions Fail?"
Wednesday, August 10, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Alok Kumar
University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Institutional Skewness Preferences and the Idiosyncratic Skewness Premium"
Wednesday, August 17, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Spring Semester

Jessica Wachter, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Topic: "A Consumption-Based Model of the Term Structure of Interest Rates"
(ND Contact: Tom Cosimano)
Wednesday, March 23, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Internal Seminar: TBATopic:TBA
Wednesday, March 30, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Internal Seminar: TBA
Topic: TBA
Friday, April 1, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Naveen Khanna, Michigan State UniversityTopic: "Good IPO's drive in bad: Inelastic banking capacity and persistently large underpricing in hot IPO markets"
Wednesday, April 6, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Alok Kumar, University of Notre DameTopic: "Who Gambles in the Stock Market?"
Wednesday, April 13, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Lin Peng, Baruch College
Wei Xiong, Princeton University
Topic: "R2 and Momentum"
(ND Contact: Lei Yu)
Wednesday, April 20, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

George Korniotis, University of Notre DameTopic: "Predicting Local Returns with Macroeconomic Variables"
Wednesday, April 27, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOBB

Michelle Lowry, Penn State (POSTPONED)
Topic: "Institutional Investment in Newly Public Firms"
(ND Contact: Shane Corwin)
Wednesday, May 11, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Tim Loughran and Paul Schultz, University of Notre DameTopic: "The Impact of Location on Equity Issuance"
Thursday, June 2, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Paul Schultz, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Autocorrelations in Portfolio Returns"
Wednesday, June 8, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Alok Kumar, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "When Do Investors Exhibit Stronger Behavioral Biases?"Friday, June 17, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Shane Corwin, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Limited Attention and the Allocation of Effort in Securities Trading"*Friday, June 24, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB
(*Note date change)