Faculty & Departments

Finance Seminar Series 2007

Fall Semester

Paul Schultz, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "A Simple Way to Estimate BID-ASK Spreads from Daily High to Low Prices."
Wednesday, August 22, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Camelia Kuhnen, Northwestern University
Topic: "Executive Pay, Hidden Compensation and Managerial Entrenchment"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Friday, September 7, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Scott Weisbenner, University of Illinois
Topic: ""Old" Money Matters: The Sensitivity of Mutual Fund Redemption Decisions to Fund Characteristics"
(ND Contact: Sophie Shive)
Friday, September 14, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Amir Sufi, University of Chicago
Topic: "Contingency and Renegotiation of Financial Contracts: Evidence from Private Credit Agreements"
(ND Contact: Hayong Yun)
Friday, September 28, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Ann Sherman, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Media Coverage and IPO Underpricing"
Friday, October 5, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Alex Edmans, MIT
Topic: " Blockholders, Market Efficiency and Managerial Myopia" (Paper #1) Blockholders Slide Presentation
"Multiple Blockholders, Price Infomativeness and Firm Value" (Paper #2) Multiple Blockholders Slide Presentation
(ND Contact: Paul Schultz)
Friday, October 12, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

David Yermack, New York University
Topic: " Where are the Shareholders' Mansions? CEO's Home Purchases, Stock Sales, and Subsequent Company Performance"
(ND Contact: Hayong Yun)
Friday, October 26, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Avanidhar Subramanyam, UCLA
Topic: " Options Trading Activity and Firm Valuation" Paper
Options Trading Activity and Firm Valuation Power Point Presentation
(ND Contact: Paul Gao)
Friday, November 2, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Uday Rajan, University of Michigan
Topic: "Corporate Hedging, Investment and Value"
(ND Contact: Sophie Shive)
Friday, November 9, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Vikrant Vig, London Business School
Topic: "Access to Collateral and Corporate Debt Structure: Evidence from a Natural Experiment"
(ND Contact: Hayong Yun/Robert Battalio)
Friday, November 16, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

NO SEMINAR DURING THE WEEK OF NOVEMBER 19Th-23RD DUE TO THE THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY!

Tom Cosimano, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Optimal Investing and Consumption for the Long Run"
Friday, November 30, 12:00-1:30, 203B MCOB (Note Room and Time Change!)

Daniel Dorn, Drexel University
Topic: "Preferred Risk Habitat of Individual Investors"
(ND Contact: Paul Schultz)
Friday, December 7, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Eduardo Zambrano, California Polytechnic State University
Topic: "On the Measurement of Financial Risk"
(ND Contact: Paul Schultz)
Friday, December 14, 11:30-1:00, 121 MCOB (Note Room Change!)

Spring Semester

Ronald Masulis, Vanderbilt University
Topic: "Does Venture Capital Reputation Matter? Evidence from Subsequent IPO Performance"
(ND Contact: Roger Huang)
Friday, March 2, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Paul Schultz, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "When is Stock Picking by Mutual Funds Successful?"
Friday, March 9, 11:30-1:00, 121 MCOB (Note Room Change!)

Narasimhan Jegadeesh, Emory
Topic: "Do Analysts Herd? An Analysis of Analysts' Recommendations and Market Reactions"
(ND Contact: Zhi Da)
Friday, March 23, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Zhi Da, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "The Earnings Term Structure of Analyst Forecasts and Return Anomalies"
Friday, March 30, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Harrison Hong, Princeton
Topic: "Do Arbitrageurs Amplify Economic Shocks?"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Friday, April 13, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Kewei Hou, The Ohio State University
Topic: "What Factors Drive Global Stock Returns?"
(ND Contact: Paul Schultz)
Friday, April 20, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Peter Easton, University of Notre Dame (POSTPONED)
Topic: "Some Initial Evidence on the Role of Accounting Earnings in the Bond Market"
Wednesday, April 25, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Amar Gande, Southern Methodist University
Topic: "Shareholder Initiated Class Action Lawsuits: Shareholder Wealth Effects and Industry Spillovers"
(ND Contact: Hayong Yun)
Friday, April 27, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Sophie Shive, University of Notre Dame
Topic:"Good Dollars Chasing Bad Dollars: The Impact of Venture Capital Funding on Industry Stock Returns"
Thursday, May 3, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Laura Frieder, Purdue University
Topic: "Separating Up from Down: New Evidence on the Idiosyncratic Volatility - Return Relation"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Friday, May 4, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Peter Easton, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Some Initial Evidence on the Role of Accounting Earnings in the Bond Market"
Friday, May 9, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB