Faculty & Departments

Finance Seminar Series 2004

Fall Semester

Ekkehart Boehmer, Texas A&M University
Topic:"Dimensions of Execution Quality: Recent Evidence for U.S. Equity Markets:
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, September 15, 11:35-1:05, 339 MCOB

Andrew Karolyi, Ohio State University
Topic:
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, September 22, 11:35-1:05, 339 MCOB

Behavioral Finance Conference
(ND Contact: Paul Schultz)
Friday, October 1, 9:00-5:00, 162 MCOB

John Cochrane, University of Chicago
Topic: "Asset Pricing Theory and the Equity Premium"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Friday, October 8, 11:30-1:00, 215 DBRT

Wednesday, October 20 Fall Break (No Seminar)

George Korniotis
Topic: "Rewards from Savings Debt Aversion and Mental Accounts"
Wednesday, October 27, 11:35-1:05, 339 MCOB

Malcolm Baker, Harvard University
Topic: "Corporate Financing Decisions When Investors Follow the Path of Least Resistance"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, November 3, 11:35-1:05, 339 MCOB

Craig Doidge, University of Toronto
Topic: "Why Do Countries Matter So Much for Corporate Governance"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Friday, November 12, 11:35-1:05, 339 MCOB

Long Chen, MIchigan State University
Topic: "Expected Returns,Yield Spreads, and Asset Pricing Tests"
(ND Contact: Robert Battalio)
Wednesday, November 17, 11:35-1:05, 339 MCOB

Tim Loughran, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Divergence of Opinion Surrounding Extreme Events"
Wednesday, December 1, 11:35-1:05, 339 MCOB

Spring Semester

Tuomo Vuolteenaho, Harvard University
Topic: "Bad Beta, Good Beta"
(ND Contact: Shane Corwin)
Wednesday, March 3, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Wednesday, March 10, Spring Break (No Seminar)

Alok Kumar, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Mass Psychology and Stock Returns: The Case of Retail Trades"
Wednesday, March 17, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Hans Stoll, Vanderbilt University
Topic: "Out-Trades: Reporting Delay, Trading Option or Trade Size?"
(ND Contact: Shane Corwin)
Wednesday, March 24, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Galina Ovtcharova, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Institutional Ownership and Long-Term Stock Returns"
Wednesday, March 31, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Ekkehart Boehmer, Texas A&M
(POSTPONED INDEFINITELY DUE TO FLIGHT CANCELLATION AS A RESULT OF BAD WEATHER)
Topic: "Dimensions of Execution Quality: Recent Evidence for U.S. Equity Markets"
(ND Contact: Shane Corwin)
Wednesday, April 7, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Richard Sheehan, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Valuing Core Deposits"
Wednesday, April 14, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

David Musto, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Topic: "Do Shareholders Preferences Affect their Funds' Management? Evidence from the Cross Section of Shareholders and Funds"
(ND Contact: Shane Corwin)
Wednesday, April 21, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Robert Fernholz, INTECH (Advanced Investment Technologies)
Topic: "Stochastic Portfolio Theory and Its Use in Enhanced Index Management"
Wednesday, April 28, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Robert Battalio and Paul Schultz, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Options and the Bubble"
*Friday, May 7, 11:30-1:00, *122 MCOB (*Note Date and Room Change!)

Robert Battalio, University of Notre Dame
Topic: "Reputation Effects on the Floor of the New York Stock Exchange"
Wednesday, May 12, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

"Vish" Viswanathan
Topic: "Endogenous Events and Long Run Returns"
(ND Contact: Shane Corwin)
Wednesday, May 19, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB

Bob Korajczyk, Northwestern University (CANCELLED)
Wednesday, May 26, 11:30-1:00, 339 MCOB